Information about Banks And Banking

Banking hours are weekedays, Monday to Friday, from 8 am to 4pm with some banks open on Saturday mornings. Banks are closed on Public Holidays.

The main banks in South Africa are:

Capitec Bank First National Bank
Standard Bank

Most major banks have foreign exchange desks available to help you exchange your currency or travellers' cheques. Be sure to bring your passport as identification for any transactions.